top of page
FAQ: FAQ

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the requirements for licensing?

All applicants must be over the age of 18 and have a high school diploma (or certificate of equivalency) and be lawfully present and eligible to work in the United States. If you have a law degree or a four-year baccalaureate degree from a higher education institution with a major in real estate, you do not have to take pre-licensing courses for any license type or meet the experience requirements for Broker qualification. A transcript can be accepted and reviewed to authorize you to apply for the Sales, Broker or Property Manager examination. For a salesperson license: Applicants must complete a background check, be 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or equivalent. and must also complete the Commission approved pre-licensing Courses. Passing Score sheets and proof of completion of the courses must be submitted with your licensure application.

I have a criminal conviction. Can I get a South Carolina real estate license?

A criminal record does not in itself prevent you from being able to be licensed. Certain convictions are grounds for denial of licensure and will require that you appear before the Commission for an Application Hearing. You must complete pre-licensing requirements and submit an application for examination or licensure before a determination can be made as to whether your licensure can be approved by the Administrator, or if it will require an appearance before the Commission for a hearing. 

 

What is the cost of your class? 

Currently our courses are $675 for all 90 hours and that includes your required book. We do have optional study material for sale as well. 

I see that online options for the courses are available. Why should I enroll in your live class? 

Great question. In our live classrooms, you get guest speakers that are experts in their fields to come give you examples of real estate practicum. Our instructors use their real-life stories and examples to help cement principles and use active learning style techniques to assist the student not only better understand the material, but also give you test-taking strategies to help you prepare for the state exam. Plus, you get to network with other people who are in the same position you are and can learn from their questions as well. We make interactive learning fun! 

Is there a test to get the license?

Yes, the exam is administered by PSI exams in several locations throughout South Carolina, The test is $63 and can be scheduled through PSI after the Real Estate Commission issues you a letter of eligibility. They have testing available Monday-Saturday, excluding major holidays by appointment only. It is a two-part, multiple choice exam. 

Do you help with job placement?

Yes we do! We have a list of many brokers and/or teams who are looking for brand new agents and we will help you get an interview if requested.

 

Are you credentialed through the Real Estate Commission?

Yes we are! Our provider number is RS.1015. You will receive a certificate from us that the Real Estate Commission will accept for your application of eligibility.

 

I already have my license. Do you offer continuing education? 

Yes, we have several courses available. We try to offer a variety of courses and opportunities to further your education.  Our instructors may be active brokers, attorneys, or lenders in the area that are willing to share their expertise. Some may offer continuing education credit, while others may be additional learning opportunities. Our instructor also teaches CE at Charleston Trident Association of Realtors as a guest instructor. 

 

How many hours of Continuing Education do I have to take?

  • For license renewal, you will need ten (10) hours of continuing education every two years.

  • Brokers in Charge will have to take a mandatory BIC Responsibility 4-hour course in addition to the core course and will only have to take 2 hours of electives.

  • If you are a non-resident and licensed in your resident jurisdiction, you must meet the CE requirements of your resident state.

  • If you have 25 years of active licensed experience you may submit a request for Partial Continuing Education Exemption. If you meet the experience requirements based upon licensure in another jurisdiction, we will need you to obtain and submit certifications of licensure history.

  • If you are active-duty military, you are exempt from CE while on active service.

 

What is your cancellation policy?
We understand that life may get in the way of your goals. Our cancellation policy is as follows:

  • 100% refund if you cancel 10 days prior to the course start date

  • 50% refund if you cancel 5-9 days prior to the course start date

  • No refund if you cancel 4 days prior to the course start date or after the course has started.

    • If you cannot attend the course as paid for due to extenuating circumstances, and after consultation with Axiom Real Estate Academy, your tuition will be forwarded to the next available course.

bottom of page